International Association for Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences

A new international association was formed on October 1, 2000 for purposes of organizing colloquia and larger conferences devoted to themes that explore the intersection of phenomenology and the cognitive sciences. Ideas for the start of the Association came from Natalie Depraz, Shaun Gallagher, Evan Thompson, Francisco Varela, and Dan Zahavi.

Recent meetings and workshops include colloquia in Paris, Denver, Copenhagen, and London, Louvain, and Orlando.


Shaun Gallagher (University of Central Florida and University of Hertfordshire)
Evan Thompson (York University, Toronto)
Dan Zahavi (University of Copenhagen)

Board of Advisors

Yoko Arisaka (University of San Francisco)
Jonathan Cole (Southampton University)
Natalie Depraz (University of Paris - Sorbonne)
Piet Hut (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton University)
Eduard Marbach (University of Bern)
Alva No‘ (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Josef Parnas (University of Copenhagen)
Jean Petitot (CREA, Paris)
Beata Stawarska (University of Oregon)
S. Kay Toombs (Baylor University)
Francisco Varela (1946-2001)

For further information, or to become a member, contact Shaun Gallagher at